How did the blame end up on me?

Lyrics by Shelby Cowman
 
Image
Verse 1:

It’s a constant struggle to block out that memory

As soon as i lay down at night your face haunts me

Like im pressing rewind by closing my eyes

Im back in that moment, cant help but cry

You saw an invitation in my unconsciousness

Safe in my dreams, you took that as yes

Your telling people it’s my fault, but it cant be

How did the blame end up on me?

Chorus:

I was passed out cold, you thought i’d forget

You committed the crime, convinced you’d get away with it

I woke up to you, taking what you could get

Frozen in fear, I wish i’d fought harder, i’ll admit

You had your hand over my mouth, I remember every bit

I never said yes

but it was my fault, I guess

Verse 2:

You did a lot of taking that night, I want it all back

but the guilt I mistakingly felt, you can keep that

You took what wasn’t yours to take

My innocence as your keepsake

I felt invinsible before, “that will never happen to me”

You proved me wrong, crashing into me with harsh reality

My ex says it’s my fault, what he sees i dont see

How did the blame end up on me?

(Chorus)

Bridge:

How could you hurt someone’s little girl when you have one of your own?

Can’t you see i’m somebody’s daughter too, just a little grown

If someone did to her what you did to me

Would you blame her? or then would you finally see?

Chorus:

I was passed out cold, you thought i’d forget

You committed the crime, convinced you’d get away with it

I woke up to you, taking what you could get

Frozen in fear, I wish i’d fought harder, i’ll admit

You had your hand over my mouth, I remember every bit

I never said yes

never once did i say yes

Leave a Reply

